CLUB/ACTIVITY

CONTACT

Asian Culture Club- Share Asian culture and represent Asian heritage at Skyview. You can learn basic Asian language, be introduced to Asian foods and explore traditions. Darin.Degrande@vansd.org
American Sign Language Explores the world of American Sign Language, socialization in ASL with other ASL students, and helps out by signing at various school events. Steve.Poston@vansd.org

ASB gives students the opportunity to become successful leaders by participating in the Student Government class. Students are involved with planning school activities such as assemblies, dances, and Mr/Ms Skvyiew. ASB students represent all Skyview students - anyone not directly involved in the class is able to share ideas and help with projects throughout the year!

Kaley.Williams@vansd.org

BE THE CHANGE, strives to create a permanent culture of kindness at Skyview High School. This happens through large and small acts of kindness performed for our Skyview community.

"Be the change you want to see in the world". - Gandhi

Jenna.Biggs@vansd.org
Black Student Union-The Black Student Union will be an open space for Skyview Students of African American descent to make a difference within Skyview, the Van SD community and to share experiences. The Black Student Union will be open to all races and welcome students of other ethnic backgrounds for constructive conversation and education. Blaine.Jarnagin@vansd.org
Business Empowerment of the Youth - The purpose of this club is to educate and network the next generation of entrepreneurs and business leaders at Skyview. We focus on bridging the gap between business and education through innovative leadership and career development opportunities. Jeff.Thompson@vansd.org

Chess Club, advisor Dr. Claire Smith, meets every Friday in room 404 after school. The purpose of the chess club is to promote recreational play, the study and practice of the game and participation in local and state tournaments.

Claire.Smith@vansd.org
CREATIVE WRITING CLUB,The purpose of this club is to write creatively, to improve creative writing skills,; to explore our
creativity through writing and revision.

Jake.Wyley@vansd.org

DECA, Provides students with hands-on experiences in the fields of marketing, business and entrepreneurship. Enhances the classroom experience by providing conferences and competitions that mold high school students into character-driven leaders. Ed.Kehdi@vansd.org
Diversity Committee, Members work to provide a safe, friendly place for students to meet, discuss and work together to bring about change in our community. They also seek to remove discrimination, prejudice and intolerance from our school. Meredith.Wales@vansd.org
Drama, Works on projects in every area of theatre production. Students have the opportunity to act, sing, dance, work on visual, sound and light design. Students also work in publicity, community outreach projects, and have a good time with friendly, supportive students and teachers. Blaine.Jarnagin@vansd.org
EQUESTRIAN CLUB,If you currently ride or have a horse to train, the Skyview Equestrian club (Vancouver United WAHSET team) is your opportunity to ride in with a team. Parents are required to be at all
practices and meets. The High School Equestrian teams in Washington State compete in WAHSET (Washington High School Equestrian Teams).
The club competes in three meets yearly from January through April. Students
enrolled in Vancouver schools are eligible to join Vancouver United Equestrian team. To sign up, email: sean.mcdonald@vansd.org.
Trish.Piliado@vansd.org
Fellowship of Christian Athletes-The goal of FCA is to provide a safe outlet for students to share their faith in a judgement free envornment. Meetings may consist of : worship, scripture reading, devotionals, prayer, games and other activities. Activities may occur outside of school. Claire.Murray@vansd.org
French Club - Open to all students interested in learning more about and celebrating French culture. Jeanne.Federovitch@vansd.org
Future Medical Professionals Club - The purpose of this club is to create an environment for students interested in entering into the medical field. Meetings will include guest speakers from various medical fields developing ways to promote health and awareness at Skyview. Kathryn.Funkmills@vansd.org
Green Team- The aim is to examine environmental issues at school, develop an action plan, and make a meaningful lasting change on campus, as we strive for Washington Green Schools certification. Hannah.Buell@vansd.org
H.E.R.O.S. (Higher Education Readiness Officers) - The goal of H.E.R.O.S. is to promote an atmosphere of higher education readiness while advocating student leadership and the improvement of the community. Anna.Cockrum@vansd.org
JAWA (JOY AT WEEKEND ARRIVAL) The purpose of the club is to provide a positive environment for students with similar
interests. Activities will include playing games and watching movies.
khansen@vansd.org
Key, All students interested in community service can join this group. They help with events like Trick-or-Treat for UNICEF and Salvation Army Bell Ringing. Elyse.Azorr@vansd.org

Knowledge Bowl, Compete against other schools on general knowledge subjects like literature, history, math, and science in a game a bit like a quiz show or Jeopardy. Bob.Brands@vansd.org
MATH TEAM, Mu Alpha Theta - Students challenge themselves on tough problems including practicing problem-solving strategies. The goal is to foster an environment that encourages listening, thinking, speaking to join in intellectual living. Mahenrika.Malixi@vansd.org
MEChA- This after school club is dedicated to promoting higher education, culture, and the history of Chicano students. Jenna.Biggs@vansd.org
Model UN, Students meet to discuss, debate and practice different forum opportunities on issues of international importance. Opportunities include attending college and state MUN’s and other special events as well as putting on our own forums and special trainings. Danielle.Puhl@vansd.org
National Honor Society, Recognition and commitment to academic excellence, leadership, and community service. Nancy.faulk@vansd.org
Natural Helpers, Welcomes and includes foreign exchange students into the Skyview community, focusing on the exchange ideas and customs on an international level. Nancy.faulk@vansd.org
Ping Pong - Enjoy the camaraderie of fellow students in a welcoming environment learning the sport of ping pong. Learn to promote teamwork and cooperation with others. Charles.Collum@vansd.org
Red cross, Responsible for organizing the student blood drives and relief efforts that take place throughout the year. Scott.Rice@vansd.org
Robotics, A student organization dedicated to inspiring interest, respect, and participation in science, technology, engineering and math education. No prior experience required, just excitement about technology and a willingness to learn, work hard and have fun.

Lucas.Glassett@vansd.org

Kurt.Schmidt@vansd.org

khansen@vansd.org

Science Team - The goal of this club is to promote interest and passion for science. It is open to all students that have an interest in science or who would like extra help or tutoring in science classes. New members welcome anytime! Colleen.Mckinney@vansd.org
Skills USA, A national leadership and technical skills organization for students enrolled in Career and Technical Education courses. Visit http://www.skillsusa.org/ for more information. Nancy.Wistrand@vansd.org
SMT

Nate.Macon@vansd.org

Colleen.Mckinney@vansd.org

Speech and Debate - Students compete in individual or team debate, individual humorous, dramatic or expository presentations
or partner skits. 

Erin.Annis@vansd.org
STEAM Squad - The purpose of this club is to communicate about, share and promote the STORMspace in the library. Students can create and work together on projects around STEAM (Science, Technology, Engineering, Art and Math). Traci.Chun@vansd.org
Yearbook Club- The goal of this club is to give students the opportunity to participate in making the yearbook and to learn skills like photography and interviewing without being enrolled in yearbook class. Alexandra.Cowen@vansd.org